Posted in Relationships - Online Dating

You Are Cordially Invited

The routine now includes Goose and I spending every other weekend together.  This coming weekend is the one and its also New Years Eve.  So I was delighted when Goose asked me to attend a New Year’s Eve party with him.  Some friends of his are hosting it and he thought it would be fun if we stopped by.  (In all honesty, if Goose asked me to stop by the city dump.. I’d be happy to go with him.  We seem to always have fun when we’re together.)  I haven’t been OUT for New Year’s Eve in ages.   Maybe once for dinner but we were home by 8:00 pm.  One year while we were doing foster care, we had five kids staying with us.  And I told them we’d have our own Rocktail Party..  We rented several DVD’s for a movie marathon.  Each child chose one movie.  I made a favorite snack for each of them.  I told them they could stay up all night long if they wanted to.  And of course I made Rocktails.  (Don’t worry that same facial expression you’re making right now is the same one the kids made.  They had never heard of Rocktails either.)

Rocktails  are a non-alcoholic frozen float-type beverage.. similar to a root beer float.
In a fancy beverage glass.. place a scoop or two of rainbow sherbet and then fill the glass with 7-UP.    It’s fruity and foamy.  Stick in a colored straw and you have a Rocktail.  The kids version of a cocktail.  Thus a Rocktail Party.  The kids had a great time.. we watched two movies, played Monopoly and ate all sorts of things.  They were regular party animals and sound asleep by 10:30.  I watched the ball drop at midnight all by myself.  This year I get to go out for New Year’s Eve with a man I’m crazy about!  I’m so excited.  I began thinking about what I’d wear.. something festive, maybe with a little sparkle, a little daring and sexy.  Hmmm… it’s a good thing I have a couple of days to decide.

In the meantime, I’m still receiving a few winks and messages on the dating sites.  It’s been awhile since I sorted through the various sites.  Although I’m not actively looking for anyone else.. apparently there are a few who are still looking at me.  The count is nearing 500 men who have viewed my profile.  Dating to find the right guy is like searching to find a needle in a haystack.  I think I got lucky in finding Goose.  And speaking of Lucky.. one of the messages I’ve received is from him.  Gosh it’s been a long time since I told him I didn’t think we’d be a good match for each other.   He wrote to let me know that he still thinks of me quite often and wonders if we can still date sometimes.   The other message is from The Editor.  Says he’s just checking in and hopes I had a nice Christmas.  It was a very nice Christmas, but I don’t feel the need to share about it with either Lucky or The Editor.  I sent each one a note saying that I was presently dating someone and thanked them for thinking of me.

I wonder why Lucky came back after all this time?  The Editor and I didn’t really know each other past the chats on the dating site.  But Lucky and I had actually dated a few times, and it just wasn’t a good fit in my opinion.  I guess he had an opinion of his own.  Sometimes though there just isn’t a compromise.

7 thoughts on “You Are Cordially Invited

  1. Jeannie I am so glad you saw the new year in with Goose and I agree with you wholeheartedly that some fits will never fit….

    1. It’s funny isn’t it, that a realtionship can just not ‘fit’ like trying on a new sweater.. it’s not the right color or style or it feels scraatchy or too big or too small.

Leave a Reply

