Posted in Relationships - Online Dating

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

I just love my morning shower.  I love the feel of the warm steam rising as the sudsy water slides over my skin.  I’ll stay in the shower as long as the hot water holds out.  I squirt the shampoo into my hand and begin to wash my hair.  The smell of a shampoo is critical.  I’m not into the fruity kinds.  I prefer the lightly scented varieties.  Something refreshing and vitalizing.  Sort of an eye opener.  I’m about to get another eye opener.  The directions say Lather. Rinse. Repeat.  I try to follow directions.

My recent dating adventures have been  less than what I was hoping for.  They’ve been fun and I’ve met a few new people.  But nothing is appearing with any kind of staying power.  I feel like I’m standing at Baskin Robbins 31 Flavors with one of those little mini tasting spoons with full access to the ice cream freezer.  I sample a little dab of this and a little dab of that.  Once in a while I’ll circle back for just one more little taste just to make sure before I move on to the next flavor. 

It was when I was drying my hair that I actually decided.  It’s a good hair day.   It’s probably a sign.  I went to my laptop and signed on a site I hadn’t been on for a while.  Plenty of Fish.  This time I paid for a month’s membership so I could get serious about flirting and winking and emailing.   Then I made coffee.  It wasn’t long into my first satisfying cup that I had been viewed.  And favorited.  And had an online ‘gift’.  Well holy cow.  I guess paying members get highlighted or something.  Eagerly, I clicked on the site. My eyes got bigger.  I tried again to refocus.  How could this be?   It seems I’ve been found.  I was still trying to absorb this when I realized I was smiling.  It made me go ‘hmmmmm.’

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.  I took a deep breath.  I opened the online ‘gift’.  It was a bouquet of red roses wrapped in a ribbon that said, ‘Be Mine.’  Well, there’s no mistaking this now is there?  I clicked on his profile, complete with a picture.  Goose is back.  With intention.  This is a different site than where we met before.  He must have been searching and he found me here.  He certainly wasted no time.  What to do, what to do? 

“Yikes!”  He’s online and he’s left me an IM request.  No time to think about what to do.  No time to call a board meeting with Tammy and Michele.  Uh-oh.  I clicked the IM box.

“Hi Jeannie!”

“Hi, what a surprise.”

“I didn’t know you were on this site.”

“I wasn’t until about 15 minutes before you sent me the gift.  Thank you, by the way.”

“You’re welcome.  It’s good to talk to you.  How have you been?”

“I’ve been good, how are you?”

“You know, work and stuff.  We should get together sometime and catch up.”

“It’s been a while hasn’t it?”

“Would you like to meet me in Albert Lea for dinner tomorrow night?”

(Gulp!)  The girls are gonna kill me.)

“That would be nice. Thank you.”

“I’ll call you later and we can figure out a time.”

“Okay.”

All I can say is, be careful on those good hair days.

9 thoughts on “Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

  1. Something in his heart for you? Oh my dearest, Jeannie, this man has shown you his true colors … remember? It is not your heart that Goose has in mind…

    Blessings – Maxi

    1. Maxi,
      You’re a very wise woman. I hadn’t quite soaked in yet that people have their own motives. I struggle with my open and trusting heart.. believing the best in people. I’m not seeing that quality in myself as a good one. How much better the world would be if everyone was trustable. (Big Sigh)
      Hugs,
      Jeannie

  2. You know when you go to a carnival and you buy a packet of tickets for the rides? No matter how you work it, you always have a couple of tickets left over at the end of the day.
    It seems I found a way to use those left over tickets on the Merry-go-round.

Leave a Reply

