Posted in Foster Parenting / Adoption

Formula, Diapers and Temper Tantrums

It’s amazing how two little beings can change every moment of your life.  I knew what we were doing.  But I forgot how tired you get while you’re doing it.  Fortunately, it’s a family effort.  Maggie is the busiest little girl.  She jabbers on about all sorts of things, although we haven’t learned Maggie-ese yet.  So she does a lot of jabbering and pointing.  She’s not shy, thank goodness. In fact, she’s rather assertive for such a little sprite of a thing.

I sent my husband to the store for diapers and formula.  The kids went with to help hm get everything. (Hahaha, we all know what that means!)  Baby Hunter was asleep so Maggie and I got acquainted while I set the table for dinner.  I gave her the spoons and she carried one at a time to the dinner table.  It wasn’t long though before I heard baby grunts and a quiet little squawk.  Maggie and I went into the crib and I got my first good look at Hunter.  He has sparse blond hair and the biggest blue eyes and a chubby little face.  I got a diaper from the diaper bag that their mother had sent along and changed him.  Then fixed a bottle and settled into a comfy chair to feed him.  Maggie however was not in any way ready to give up her 1:1 time.  I settled her in the chair with us, but she wanted the bottle.  When I explained that it belonged to the baby, she got mad.  She promptly climbed down, stood in front of me and began to scream.  It startled the baby who jumped in my arms and he began to whimper.  Maggie was not to be consoled.  Her patience was non-existent.  She was not so keen on having a new baby brother.  This little bundle had taken over her place as the baby and she was not standing for it.  In fact, she did throw herself to the floor for a full-blown temper tantrum.

Of course that was the moment that my husband and the teenagers returned.  I’m sure they could hear Maggie’s commotion before they ever opened the front door.  My husband’s eyes were huge as he came in to see what was happening.  I sat calmly feeding the baby and talking softly to Maggie, who wanted no part of waiting til the baby finished eating.  Being the trooper he is, he scooped Maggie up into his strong arms and took her into the kitchen for a drink of water.  He’d been convinced by the teenagers to buy her a special sippee cup.  And she loved it.  Success.  We had made it through the first two hours.

But then we made it through dinner and bath time and then found out that Maggie loves to be read to.  She was in luck.. we have many readers in the family.  Of course they were long past Dr. Seuss and Winnie the Pooh.  When bedtime came, Maggie was all clean and lotioned with Baby Magic (I put it on the grocery list).  She crawled up in my lap with her binkie and a fuzzy pink plaid blanket.  We rocked and snuggled and within a few minutes she was asleep.  I laid her in her bed where she slept all night.  Hunter on the other hand woke frequently through the night.  At just about 4 weeks old, he was on a 4-5 hour feeding schedule.

When my husband and I were finally in bed at the same time.. I snuggled in and thanked him.  For taking the classes and for saying yes to Maggie and Hunter’s placement with us.  I was exhausted but I felt so blessed to be able to help this mother and her children.  I hurried myself to sleep.  Four hours will pass quickly.

4 thoughts on “Formula, Diapers and Temper Tantrums

  1. Talk about hands full, whew! I have to laugh at her binkie.

    The first time David saw granddaughter Brittany with one, he asked, “What the heck is that?”

    “It’s a binkie,” I laughed.

    “Looks like a tutu,” he frowned. He called her Tutu from that day.

    Blessings – Maxi

  2. Maxi,
    Isn’t it funny how nicknmes come to be. My husband saw Maggie in her tantrum and always called her ‘sunshine’ after that. He was thinking positive.

    Love Hugs,
    Jeannie

  3. Life’s blessings in so many ways are threaded through this story and I think nicknames are part of life’s magic…big hugs xxxx

  4. Jane,
    I can’t tell you how tired we all were for thse first few days. So many adjustments and changes in our lives. I can only imagine how difficult it was for the children who came to stay with us. Different parents, rules, bedroom, toys.. everything different from what they knew. And then of course.. add to it that their parents were not able to see them.

    Love and Hugs!
    Jeannie xxxxx

Leave a Reply

