Posted in Lessons Learned

What’s New?! Time for an Update

As all of my followers know, I have not been as consistent as usual about my blog posts of late.  I have several excuses.  Some are actually valid.  I decided that since I respect you all for having the courage to follow my blog, I could at the very least, let you in on the current happenings that have affected my lack of blogs.

First of all.. I have given notice at my job.  And it’s not ‘just’ a job.  It’s been a passion and dream of mine for the past nearly 19 years.  Crisis Intervention Service (my current employer) is a non-profit agency that provides domestic violence and sexual assault services to anyone in need of them, throughout an eight county area in North Central Iowa.  I began here as a volunteer and for those seven years, I learned much more than I ever gave.  Then nearly twelve years ago, I was gifted with the opportunity to become a staff member.  It had always been a dream of mine to become a social worker.  This agency employs some of the most committed, caring and compassionate women I’ve ever met.  They have done and will continue to do just about anything to reach out, lift up, support, encourage, inspire and care about the people seeking services.  They work when asked, they’re on call 24/7,  and they’ll recruit their family members to ‘help’.  Even when ‘helping’ means making the best darn banana bars known to mankind. Those efforts all support the team.  But the most amazing thing is our leadership.  It is common knowledge that ‘family’ comes first in our agency.  And when one of ‘ours’ is being affected by a personal crisis… all of us rally to do exactly what we do for our clients.  We care.. and do whatever we can.

So I want to say a huge thank you to all of my coworkers.  For teaching me, for encouraging me, for avoiding msg restaurants and for letting me drive so I don’t get car sick.

Second, I’m moving out of my lake home.  Yes, it’s true.  It’s a gorgeous home and I’ve loved it here.  It was another dream of mine to live again on a lake.  I achieved this dream.  I’ve made the most wonderful memories here that I will take with me where ever I am.

Third,  I’ve begun earnestly working on my first book.  I have been drafting, I’ve found just the right person to write the forward for it.  And I’ve found an illustrator for the cover.  I’m so excited I can hardly wait til I finish it.  (I can’t wait to see how it ends.)

And there’s more!  I know, crazy isn’t it?

Fourth,  I’ve registered for the Santa Barbara Writer’s Conference!   I’m both excited to go and scared silly to go.  But I HAVE to go.  It’s been calling me.  I was encouraged to go with another writer friend a few years ago, but I just wasn’t ready then.  But now, I feel driven to attend.

Fifth, and speaking of driven…(lol, love that Segway) I’ll be taking a 5400 miles road trip.  I’ll be driving my “Journey” and the license plate does read 1smiles.  So if you see me on the road, please honk, wave, smile or buy me lunch.

Attending the conference will be at the mid-way point of my trip.  Its my own version of  an Eat, Pray, Love’ journey.  By the time I return.. I’ll be jobless, homeless and I’ll have the flattest backside from driving so far.  But I also hope to be smarter, stronger, and wiser.  I know that whatever comes next for me will make itself clear in the coming months.  I’ll keep you posted.

So I guess as  a FYI.. my blog posts may be a bit sporadic as I fine tune my upcoming changes.  There are only so many hours in each day.  And even though I try to squeeze out every last-minute that there is, I can’t always find enough time for everything I’ve planned to do.

Thank you all for understanding.

Hugs!!

Jeannie

5 thoughts on “What’s New?! Time for an Update

  1. Wow, Jeannie, you are SO brave! I really admire you and wish you everything of the very best. I’m sure that this decision will lead you where you are meant to be. I’ll be watching your progress and keeping you in my prayers. Much love, Denise.

  2. Thank you so much. I’m sure I’ll be needing every positive thought and prayer as I keep stepping forward.

    I’ll be blogging on my trip so that you can all ‘be with me’. Someone please remember to bring snacks!

    Hugs!
    Jeannie

  3. I’ll be there with you, complete with popcorn, every step of the way. You are an inspiration Jeannie for having the courage to listen to your inner voice and follow your dreams…sparkly pants over those tights and flick that cape my lovely friend. A wonderful window has opened and you are brave enough to step through it…love you xxxxx

  4. Thank you Kara. I was beginning a new phase of my life. Like an awakening after a long hibernation. I choose 1smiles because optimism was filling me up. I needed to remind myself to smile. Life is much too short for anything else.
    Hugs!
    Jeannie

Leave a Reply

