Posted in My Travelogue

Day 1 – May 30, 2012

The first 25 miles were relatively unremarkable.  Roads I’ve traveled many, many times.  The north Iowa landscape is for the most part flat, rich farmland.

But contrary to what many people believe, Iowa has some very scenic areas too.  As I headed south on I-35 just south and a bit west of Des Moines, I found some beautiful tree-spattered rolling hills.  Still farmland but that contributes to Iowa being part of the nation’s bread basket.  We grow some pretty amazing beef too.

These barns are well-worn and have served their purpose over the years.  Even in they’re retirement, they continue to decorate the landscape.

Just across the road I saw this sign jutting skyward out of a healthy crop of purple spring clover.  The sign is reminiscent of the sign that pointed home in the M*A*S*H medical hospital camp.

Heading west on Highway 92 I’m 10 miles from Winterset, Iowa.  Famous as both the birthplace of John Wayne and The Bridges of Madison County.

I turned left, entering Winterset on John Wayne Drive.  A quaint old Iowa town opens its arms as I drive into town.  A very welcoming main street invites me to drive slowly around the central square that houses the proud Court House that sits at attention.  The clock tower at the top was striking 11:00 as I took this photo.

East Jefferson Street is filled with treasures!  I found the most lovely place.. the Madison County Dessert Factory.   Any of you who know me are well aware that I’m not a big dessert lover, but the front window drew me inside.  I loved the charm of this shop.  I walked across the well worn wooden floor wondering just how many people have walked these stes before me.  I love the character of this place.  The bakery case was filled with delectable delights.  Not the usual bakery treats by far.  The Margeurita Cupcakes are only one of the unique creations in the lighted case.

I was completely taken with the artwork and interior decoration created by artist Stacy A. Bonham.  She designed and painted table tops and had some art available for sale.. I chose one myself. A brilliantly painted canvas.  Thank you Stacy!

Once again out on the sidewalk, I noticed this cafe.  I blogged last fall about my first trip to Winterset and  the lunch I had in this cafe.  The one where Francesca from the Bridges of Madison County had lunch.  Much to my disappointment though today the Northside Cafe wasn’t open.

Much as I could have spent a couple of days in Winterset,  I knew I had to get back to my travels.  Overland Park, Missouri is my destination point for today.

6 thoughts on “Day 1 – May 30, 2012

  1. My granddaughter LOVES cupcakes and wants to have her own Cupcake Bakery one day.
    I need to get myself out on the road.. Heading to through Kansas and to Okalahoma today. 🙂

  2. Feels as though I’m in the seat beside you, Jeannie. Would love to visit the Madison County Dessert Factory and the Cuppycake Cafe.

    Have fun and adventure, my friend.

    Blessings – Maxi

  3. Hey lovely friend …what fun and I alwasy think of Iowa as ‘Field of Dreams’ land..not unexciting at all. It’s great what we find in our own backyard isn’t it? You’re on your way buddy … much love and hugs xxxx

    1. About a year ago, I went exploring Iowa as a tourist. I had a wonderful time discovering.
      I am on my way… thank you for your love and hugs!
      Jeannie

Leave a Reply

