Posted in Lessons Learned

A Very Quick Update – Santa Barbara Writer’s Conference

The workshops have been so informative, teaching lots of new techniques.  All of the ‘teachers’ are gifted authors/writers and they are giving us all of their experiences to build on.  I’ve met a group of talented writers to network with even when the conference is over.

All of the evening speakers have given so much encouragement and have shared their journeys to becoming published authors.  Like having to do 8 rewrites of a novel over 4 and a half years to get that one book published.  Never giving up on it seems to be the important thing.

Yesterday there was a gathering by the hotel pool to meet agents and editors.  They were all very excited to meet us and gave so much encouragement.  I also have a collection of business cards so I can make contacts when I have a book ready.

One of my workshops yesterday gave me a completely new direction on what to do with one story that I’ve written.  That particular group is anxious to hear ‘the rest of the story’ that I began reading to them yesterday.  I can’t tell you how inspiring that is.

Well, I have to run, I have an assignment to do for my first workshop this morning.  Thank you all for your support and encouragement as I’ve been traveling and now studying.  It really means so much!

Hugs!
Jeannie

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Very Quick Update – Santa Barbara Writer’s Conference

  1. Lots o luck, Jeannie. You seem to be doing well and meeting new friends; I’m so excited for you. So glad that you have made some connections; something to look forward to when you settle again.

    Hugs n Blessings – Maxi

Leave a Reply

