Posted in Lessons Learned, Relationships - Online Dating

My Blog – Because That’s What I Do

d3e36a2b3221e4a16f70a0dee6d86493-3

I’m at a crossroads with my blog. After my email account was hacked (I’m sure the scammers have read here.)
And recent comments sent to me through text.. I haven’t been posting much, and I’ve considered deleting my blog.

I’m an open person. I share my truth. From my viewpoint. I share my experiences. All of them. Good. Bad. Sad. Excited.

I allow anyone who reads, to comment, share, support, encourage, learn, and even judge my choices. It isn’t always easy. But I always try to respond with respect and dignity to those of you who are brave enough to follow along.

I’m just a person trying to figure it all out.. just like you. I may not do it the way you would. I may not choose what you would choose. I may head back into things you’d have learned from the first time.

The problem seems to be that you forget.. this is My journey. It’s not for you to take personally. You have your own journey. And I know better than to judge it. You have your reasons for choosing what you do. I don’t have to understand your choices. You do. I just have to figure out my own.

Life is messy if we really live it. Just as I put in my blog heading.. “Actively participating in my own life.”
I don’t sit by and my watch life pass by the window. I don’t like to let other people make my choices for me. Afterall, they don’t live with the consequences if they choose for me. I live them. I might mess up, in fact, let’s be honest, I mess up regularly. And then I learn and move forward. If you’re happy with your life, or even just content with the way it is.. I’m more than excited for you. If you’ve reached the place in your life that you have learned all you wanted to learn and have experienced all you care to, great for you.
But I’m not there yet.

If my blog upsets you.. don’t read it. If my blog makes you mad, don’t read it.
Or better yet.. keep reading, because it means that the words I’ve written have hit a cord with you. A tender spot that needs your attention. You can even comment here and tell me about it.

Well, that settles it, I’m not going to change who I am. I’m going to write, because that’s what I do.

18 thoughts on “My Blog – Because That’s What I Do

  1. I understand how you feel. I was recently being stalked by someone who kept emailing me. I changed my email on my blog and I even changed my blog url because of it. It was someone who apparently felt that I share too much on my blog and that even went as far as saying that my blog isn’t my personal diary and that the world doesn’t have to know every detail of my life. I feel as you do. It’s my blog and I write about my life and if what I share is too much for some people they certainly do have the right to stop reading it. BUT I will continue to write because it helps me figure things out and move forward. I am so glad you are still writing and not letting that keep you from doing so.

    Thank you for that.

    -Mari

    1. Mari,
      I’ve changed passwords all over the place and made calls to everyone that I do business with. As far as the comments go.. there is no way to force anyone to read a blog. Its a matter of personal choice. As I stated in my post, their reaction to what I write belongs solely to them.
      I think your stalker was feeling exposed. And not liking how it made him look to not only you, but to the world. But, that’s his issue… you have the freedom to share what you experienced from your own perspective.
      Jeannie

      1. I thought of that and at one point I even posted somewhat of a disclaimer to see if I’d get a reaction but I got nothing, and since changing my url I haven’t had any suspicious activity. It hasn’t been too long since I did, though. I can only hope that that is the end of it.

  2. Jeannie, I’ve learned like you, that some people take another person’s journey as either an opportunity to tell them how wrong they are or to think it’s their place to judge. Their comments quickly go beyond being judgmental to being downright mean.

    I’m with Butch. Don’t give up and let the meanies win. We all walk a slightly different path. I love you, pray for you, and enjoy reading your thoughts because they do open a window to my own life. If you do quit the blog …. how about a personal email blog especially to me???? 🙂

    1. Richard,
      Life is such a funny thing. I’m walking along minding my own business and sharing it with the world. I do because after leading so many support groups for so many years, I KNOW that others struggle with things too. I know that not everyone has a support system, because sometimes I don’t. I have a heart filled with compassoin and mercy. I have no need to judge another’s path. Instead I strive to understand why they are on that path. And I love them anyway. I thnk that’s what God wants me to do.
      I’m not the Godliest person I’ve ever met. But my life has taken me to the places where people have no voice and because I’m a talker.. I help them find theirs, even if they are the only ones that can hear it.

      For a very long time I’ve had to censor my writing, limiting what I post, as to not offend. It’s wearing thin.
      There have also been times I’ve wanted to ask you specific questions, this just isn’t the venue for that. I too pray for you and your son and I look forward to reading your posts every day. I learn from them, I find hope in them, and I feel your love eminating from them. 🙂
      Thank you,
      Jeannie

  3. “I don’t like to let other people make my choices … they don’t live with the consequences…” Love this, Jeannie.

    It shows that you’re doing fine, that you are your own person, comfortable with who you are and finding the way on your own terms. Kudos.

    Hugs and Blessings ~ maxi

    1. There is no one who can choose what my life should be. No one who can live it better than I. No one who will or should take responsibiliity for it. No one who can choose who or how I love or let go.

      I love my friends and family.. and I listen as they share their path with me. I will offer my 2 cents when asked, or share with them the options I see. But I stand back and let them choose without my judgement.. what is best for them.

      As I look at them and the partners they have chosen.. I wouldn’t have necessarily chosen that person for them. But they have. And they know much better than I the lessons and blessings that relationship brings to them.

      Hugs and Blessings to you Maxi!

  4. Jeannie, your ‘voice’ from your blog has shone a special light since the beginning…no matter what or whom has crossed your path, you have remained true to you and reflected back true compassion, wisdom and wit. I love you and want to hear your ‘voice’ for many, many years to come. Others walk their path and make their own choices…we all create our lives with our thoughts, words and actions…you stand by yours. Biggest hugs, Xxxx

    1. Thank you Jane. You are an amazing friend. I value your presence in my life more than you can possibly know. Still holding your hand from over here and sending you lots of love.
      Jeannie xxxxx

  5. Jeannie, sorry your email got broken into. I call it that because it is the 21st house robbery in that it leaves one feel vulnerable. So many of us go through the blog or not dilemma… I’m happy you landed where you did 🙂

    1. The email ‘robbery’ was very unnerving when it first happened. There were many details to take care of quickly. I hope I covered all my bases.
      I’ve been writing for so many years.. but just for myself until about a year and a half ago when I began the blog. It’s been a blessing for the most part. I’ve met all of you amazing people here.

  6. Jeannie, there are some sick people in our world and they spoil things for others. Don’t let them do this to you. Ignore them and they should tire of their silly games. If you find out who it is then I’m sure WP could block them.

  7. I think this post straightened things out. I just had to remind one other person that I write my blog for myself. It’s completely their choice to read or not.
    I believe the email hacking was a separate issue altogether.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

