Posted in Lessons Learned

“My Favorite Corn”

Now that I’m in Iowa for a few days the requests have begun coming in. I love to cook and I guess I’d say that my creativity has a chance to be expressed when I make a meal. (After last night’s dinner at my daughter’s, I do believe she has inherited similar gifts.)

My youngest son, Hunter is 10 and he loves food. There isn’t much that he doesn’t care for. A couple of years ago he had to make a collage at school of favorite and least favorite things. Broccoli made the least favorite list. In fact, it was the largest picture on the collage. I did discover that with enough ranch or enough cheese sauce, he’ll even eat broccoli now.

But today, he put in his request for “my favorite corn”. Scalloped corn. It was initially a Betty Crocker recipe, but over the years I’ve tweeked it to bring my family members to smiles. Even my son-in-law, Mike who is a major vegetable disliker, loves scalloped corn. (He wouldn’t if he watched me make it, so there are stll things that are best done without spectators.

A few years back I had an intern in my office from Portland. Adam came all the way to Iowa to live and work. Little did he know when he accepted the internship, that he’d learn to cook too. But he did.
I invited him to join my family and extended family for Thanksgiving Dinner. He fell in love with Scalloped Corn, enough so that he asked for the recipe and directions to make it. He made it this past Christmas and it was a hit.

Tonight’s Menu:
Braised Iowa Pork Chops
Mashed Potatoes with gravy
Scalloped Corn
Crescent Rolls
Coconut Cream Pie and Lemon Cream Cheese Cake (Left over from my daughter’s last night)

Scalloped Corn
2 cans whole kenel corn, drained
1 can cream style corn
1 small onion, diced
3 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg, slightly beaten
2 Tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon prepared mustard
1 teaspoon paprika
2 more Tablespoons butter, melted
3/4 cup cracker crumbs (Ritz style crackers leave a rich crispy topping)

In a medium saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add diced onion. Cook over low heat until onions become translucent, not browned.
Put in a in a cup: flour, salt, pepper, mustard and paprika
Dump all at once into the melted butter and onions. Mix over low heat til bubbly.
Add Milk. Bring to a boil for 1 minute.
Remove from heat.
Add 1/2 can cream style corn, beaten egg. Mix well.
Add all remaining corn. Mix well and pour into a greased casserole pan.

In a small sauce pan, melt remaining 3 Tablespoons butter.
Add cracker crumbs and stir well so the butter absorbs into the crackers.
Arrange the buttered crumbs evenly over the corn.
Bake uncovered at 350 for 45 min. The corn will be set, not jiggly when it is done.

Enjoy

6 thoughts on ““My Favorite Corn”

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Jeannie. I will try it out soon. I adore cornbread and my mom used to mince the mealies off the cob. I would like to find a recipe using tinned corn and every now and then I try a search for one. Maybe this recipe will be able to replace the bread as it sounds absolutely delicious too. 🙂

  2. Okay now, I have zero appetite Jeannie and I’m starvin’ for some of that ‘corn.’
    Didn’t know you were still bloggin’ … I’ll be back.
    blessings ~ maxi

    1. I haven’t been blogging for ages… nearly a year. I’ve been pondering that decision recently. I’ve been feeling that ol’ writing pull. Just might have to begin again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

