Posted in Lessons Learned

Intimidating? Me?

fgd

Defined: Intimidate means to make timid or fearful; to overawe as through the force of personality through superior display of skill or talent.

Okay, so at work last night, this guy, a colleague with much more education than I have says to me… “You’re intimidating.” And I responded with a surprised questioning in my voice, “me? Why would you say that?” I asked. He said, “You’re a woman who knows what she wants, you’re well-educated and you don’t settle for less than what you’re going after. You’re a strong woman and that’s intimidating.”

Frankly, I was stunned because we had been trying to get a can opener to work. A can opener. The one on hand was a cheap one that didn’t work. And try as either of us might.. that can opener wouldn’t open a stick of gum. He was leaving to go to another work site and I mentioned that I thought they had an extra.

That’s when he sad I was intimidating.

I’m thinking maybe he was surprised at my problem-solving skills. To think of options to remedy the situation as soon as possible. At 11:30 at night in a small town, there aren’t a ton of options. This just seemed like the best one available at the moment. I don’t think it had a thing to do with skill or talent.. I certainly didn’t threaten him or raise my voice. Maybe he just thought waiting til someone else remedied the problem was the option he could come up with.
I don’t know.. but… we have a working can opener now. (Insert smile here)

6 thoughts on “Intimidating? Me?

  1. Can opener? Intimidating? The remark doesn’t fit the situation. Sounds like there is something else going on … more to what was said.
    blessings ~ maxi

    1. Maxi,
      Isn’t it funny how things come out side ways. Youre’ right there is something more going on with this guy. It just came out about the can opener,
      Hugs

  2. Funny!!! is it just a “male” thing? can’t reason simple things out? must have been, or maybe still is a “mommy’s” boy, needs someone to take care of him/things, even as little as a can opener!!! love it+++

Leave a Reply

