Posted in Lessons Learned

This Little Light of Mine

let-your-light-shine

It seems it’s time to get busy living again. Ever since I relocated back to Iowa, there have been so many changes. I needed adjustment time. And now I’m apparently adjusted. (Don’t hurt yourself laughing!)

Years ago while I was working at the Crisis Center, a woman came into the office. She reached out to shake my hand, and during our hand shake, she handed me a few folded bills. Then she hugged me. I had never seen this woman before, and I haven’t since. But I have never forgotten her.
During this hug, she whispered in my ear: “Keep shining your bright light for others to see.” Then we broke the embrace, and she smiled and walked away.

I have often thought about what message she was giving me. Clearly it was intended directly for me. Was she thanking me for helping a friend or family member? Was she herself in need of help? Or was she there to encourage me?

After she left, I realized that I did not know her name or how to reach her. All I knew was what I felt by her presence. And the message she left me with. I wrote it down and posted it near my desk. I saw that note and her words every day. I tried to remember that the people I came into contact with were in difficult places and needed support and encouragement. Kindness. Love. I tried to keep that light shining every day.

But in all honesty, over these past few months, my light began to dim. Until it reached merely a glimmer. I was so busy arranging the details of my life. Training in a new job, relocating to a new home, training for a promotion, a child in the hospital..twice, and then another job transfer. But all of a sudden, I feel as if I’ve landed. Finally. And it’s time to live again. Shine again.

My new boss blew some oxygen my way on the first day of my transfer. As if using a bellows on the final glowing embers of a fire. I don’t think she knew it, but she found a spark. Then before long the flicker of a new flame. This little light of mine, she’s ready to shine.

4 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine

  1. Hi Jeannie,
    I hope your adjustment didnt tickle too much LOL 😉
    On a serious note, however, i’m glad your light is shining again
    You might not know it, but it shines all the way over here and i have been looking for it since you moved . Now it will light my path again.
    Thanks for being such a lovely person and may your light never go out again. It is dearly missed when it fades sometimes ;-(
    Lots of hugs and love Jeannie
    Your faraway friend
    Thys
    x0x0x0x xxxx ❤

    1. Oh Thys,
      What a sweet man you are. I guess I didn’t realize I had the “Super” Energizer Batteries that would power such a light that it would reach all the way to you. But it’s good to know that it reaches you. I’ll use it wisely cause I’d hate to lead you off the path and into the thicket.
      I wore the pearl necklace you sent me the other day.. so you know that you are thought of al the way over here.
      Love and hugs to you,
      Jeannie

  2. Jeannie, my friend, your light never goes out. Someone is always watching, affected. It’s just that life gets in the way and you are not aware.

    Glad your glow is brighter and your feather has landed.
    blessings ~ maxi

    1. My Feather Has Landed. I love that Maxi. That’s exactly what it feels like. A feather being moved about in the breeze. I love and appreciate your loving wisdom.
      Hugs and blessings,
      Jeannie

Leave a Reply

